Britain’s fleet decision-makers are being urged to make their nominations for the top vehicles, initiatives and companies in the industry.

Nominations have opened for members of ACFO, the UK’s premier fleet decision-makers’ organisation, as well as non-members, to recognise the ‘finest in fleet’ in 2017.

Furthermore, ACFO is also urging members, motor manufacturers and fleet industry suppliers to book tables for its prestigious 2017 annual Awards, which will take place on Thursday, 16th November, 2017.

Once again the awards dinner, which is traditionally attended by almost 230 people is being held at the St John’s Hotel, Warwick Road, Solihull, Birmingham.

The ACFO Awards are being held for the 34th consecutive year and nominations can be made for the very best in fleet across seven awards split into two categories.

The Fleet Service Company category, which is sponsored by Suzuki GB, includes awards for the:

  • Fleet Leasing Company of the Year
  • Fleet Service Company of the Year
  • Fleet Safety Initiative/Service of the Year.

Secondly, the Vehicle Manufacturer category embraces a further four awards:

  • Small Van of the Year
  • Large Van of the Year
  • Ultra-low Emission Vehicle of the Year
  • Fleet Car of the Year, an award sponsored by Marshall Leasing.


Both ACFO members and non-members should make their nominations in each category online at by 8th September, 2017. Once the nominations list has been compiled, ACFO members only will then be asked to vote for their winner in each of the seven categories.

Meanwhile, table bookings, as well as details of Awards’ sponsorship opportunities, can be made by contacting ACFO on 01865 342102, via email or through the ACFO website

While the focus of the evening is the announcement of the 2017 ACFO Awards’ winners, the event also provides an ideal opportunity for individuals to network, strengthen business relationships and share ideas in relaxed surroundings.

ACFO chairman John Pryor said: “The popularity of the ACFO Awards continues to increase among members, motor manufacturers and fleet suppliers.

“Money raised through sponsorship and ticket sales is vitally important to ACFO as it help funds the work of the organisation through the year, including our popular seminar programme.

“Since launching the Awards in their current format, we have seen attendance increase year-on-year and we anticipate another sell-out and an exciting night as we name the top suppliers, best initiatives and best company vehicles in the view of ACFO members in 2017.”


ACFO members at the 2017 AGM re-elected Debbie Floyde and Phil Redman to the board of directors. Both retired by rotation and were re-elected unopposed after no other members put themselves forward for election.

Mrs Floyde has been in charge of the fleet at Bauer Media for the last 19 years. A member of ACFO for the last 15 years, she is actively involved as an official in the East Anglia region. A board member, since 2014, she has held the post of finance director.  

Mr Redman is the owner of his own consultancy business, PR Fleet Management, but is well known as the former fleet manager for IBM in the UK and Ireland, a role he successfully held for more than 20 years. He has served as secretary, vice-chairman and chairman for ACFO Southern Region and has been an ACFO director for nine years.

ACFO has a six-strong board which is completed by John Pryor, fleet and travel manager at Arcadia Group; Caroline Sandall, former fleet manager at Barclays Bank; Denise Lane, head of group fleet at Capita; and Richard Baird, new business development director at Marshall Leasing.